Author Spotlight Q&A: Colleen Maria Lenihan

  Colleen Maria Lenihan hails from Te Rarawa and Ngāpuhi. She is a fiction writer, screenwriter and photographer, and a graduate of Te Papa Tupu and The Creative Hub. Her first book Kōhine, proudly published by Huia, was launched in August and has been warmly received by readers across the motu. Colleen is based in […]

Announcing the Keri Hulme Award

  Keri Hulme (Kāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe) was the first New Zealander to win the prestigious Booker Prize in 1985. She was also the first writer to win the Booker Prize with a debut novel. In August 2022, the original manuscript of the bone people was sold at auction and the proceeds of the sale […]

New Funding Opportunity For Writers

About the fund Creative New Zealand funding for individual artists and arts practitioners to develop skills that increase career sustainability and future-proof business practice. Apply here. Amount: $5,000 – $10,000 Artforms: All Artforms   Funding rounds Opened: 19 Sep 2022 Closes: 14 Oct 2022, 1PM Results due: 25 Nov 2022   Who can apply? This fund […]

Keri Hulme’s generous koha for Māori writers

Keri Hulme’s generous koha for Māori writers The original manuscript of the bone people, by legendary author Keri Hulme (Kāi Tahu and Kāti Māmoe), will be auctioned at Dunbar Sloane on the 11th of August, this year. Keri Hulme was the first New Zealander to win the prestigious Booker Prize in 1985. She was also the […]

Look out Ockhams, here comes the next kaituhi Māori!

The Māori Literature Trust | Te Waka Taki Kōrero announces the six newest kaituhi for its highly sought-after incubator programme, Te Papa Tupu. Kei runga noa atu koutou ko: Callum Knight (Te Hika o Pāpāuma) Hinematioro Nohotima-Duncan (Tūhoe – Ngāti Koura, Te Aitanga ā-Māhaki – Whānau ā-Kai) J. Wiremu Kane (Ngāpuhi – Ngāti Toro, Ngāti Manu, […]

Whiti Hereaka Wins NZ’s Biggest Literary Prize

Whiti: photographed by Tabitha Arthur The Māori Literature Trust is thrilled to celebrate Whiti Hereaka (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Te Arawa) in winning Aotearoa’s most prestigious literary prize, the 2022 Ockham NZ Book Awards: Jann Medlicott Acorn prize for fiction. Whiti is only the 7th kaituhi Māori in 50 years to win this award. Her award-winning masterpiece, Kurangaituku, […]